Feb 26, 2018
Georgia Employer Penalties – State Board of Workers Compensation
In the state of Georgia, companies who employ at least 3 part-time or full-time employees must provide workers’ compensation insurance. If they don’t, they may be held liable by the State Board of Workers’ Compensation in Georgia. Furthermore, it is illegal for employers to delay or deny workers’ compensation benefits for no reason. If this happens, your employer may face serious penalties in the state of Georgia.
According to the State Board of Workers Compensation in Georgia, Employer penalties include:
- Fines of $500 to $5,000 for each violation
- Misdemeanor charges against the business owner or company executive
- Criminal penalties of up to a year in jail and fines ranging from $1,000 to $10,000
The Enforcement Division of the State Board of Workers’ Compensation in Georgia handles all cases of noncompliance and fraud related to workers’ compensation claims. If your claim has been denied or delayed, and your employer has given no explanation, he or she will be investigated and charged with noncompliance. Making false statements or using deceptive tactics to avoid paying workers’ compensation also counts as fraud.
What Should You Do If Your Claim Is Denied?
Sometimes, your workers’ compensation claim will be denied for valid reasons. If you failed to seek medical attention or inform your employer about your injury, the insurance company may try to say that your injury did not occur at work. According to the State Board of workers compensation in Georgia, since workers’ compensation benefits are only available to those who are injured at work or while performing work-related activities, your claim may be disputed.
If your claim is delayed or denied for no apparent reason, or your employer makes deceptive statements or excuses to avoid paying what you deserve, you may file a complaint with the State Board of Workers’ Compensation in Georgia. The Enforcement Division will conduct an investigation and hold your employer responsible for failing to provide adequate and timely workers’ compensation benefits.
Hansford McDaniel LLC Can Represent You Through the Process
After you are injured in an accident, you must inform your employer as soon as possible and seek medical attention. Your employer is responsible to file Form WC-1 with the proper insurance provider in a timely manner. If your employer delays, he or she may be liable for late payment fees, late filing penalties, and other penalties. The workers’ compensation process can be confusing and stressful, especially if your employer is not cooperating. Our team of workers’ comp attorneys will help you file the necessary paperwork, gather evidence on your behalf, and fight for the benefits you deserve.
We offer free consultations for your convenience. Contact us today to speak with one of our knowledgeable lawyers.