When Should I Report an Accident for Workers' Comp in GA?
Workers’ compensation is extremely valuable. Before nationwide workers’ compensation laws were enacted, injured workers would often have to take their employers to court and many times they did not win. Not only did workers have little to no resources to cover their medical bills, they had no way to replace their lost income and they did not have the means to go up against their affluent employers in court.
Fortunately, state legislators recognized this widespread problem and enacted workers’ compensation laws in all 50 states. Today, South Carolina mandates that all businesses with three or more employees, including part-time employees, carry workers’ compensation insurance on behalf of their workers.
Injured Workers Have to Follow the Rules
While workers’ compensation insurance is critical for injured and sickened workers suffering from an occupational disease, there are strict rules that have to be followed in order for injured workers to access benefits. These rules govern when an injured worker has to report their injury, who they have to report it to, which doctors they see, and which treatment they receive.
If a worker delays in filing a claim and they wait too long, they lose valuable benefits. But when is a worker supposed to report their accident or injury and to whom? It’s important to pay attention to the reporting requirement because it does vary from state-to-state.
In South Carolina, if you’re hurt in a workplace accident, you must report the accident immediately to your boss, manager, foreman, or supervisor. If you wait more than 30 days, you could lose your right to benefits permanently.
When Do Benefits Start?
If you are injured on-the-job and you cannot work for more than 7 days, you should be entitled to weekly income benefits. Generally, the first check is mailed to an injured worker within 21 days from the first day the worker missed work due to their injury. If an injured worker misses work for more than 21 consecutive days, then he or she will receive benefits for the first week they were injured.
To file a workers’ compensation claim in Atlanta, call (770) 629-9321 today.